“Tramontana” (JAO Big Band)

Juan Andrés Ospina Big Band

“Tramontana”, Juan Andrés Ospina Big Band’s debut album, was released in April 20 2018. The album was recorded between 7 and 9 of January 2017 at the iconic Sear Sound Studios (New York) with 26 incredible musicians from 10 different countries, and among them is the 14-times Grammy awarded saxophonist Paquito D’Rivera. The album, produced by myself, features 6 arrangements I wrote for big band (four of which are also original compositions of mine). It was co-produced by my friend and Greek producer Magda Giannikou, and it also features my brother Nicolás Ospina, Colombian singer Lucia Pulido and Portuguese singer Sofia Ribeiro.

A big project in which we have all worked very hard, and which I am really happy to share with you. Thanks for listening and watching 🙂

Juan Andrés

Album’s tracks

1. Tramontana (Juan Andrés Ospina)
2. Todavía No, feat. Paquito D’Rivera (Juan Andrés Ospina)
3. 102 Fahrenheit (Juan Andrés Ospina)
4. Like Someone in Love (Jimmy Van Heusen)
5. Recuerdos de un Reloj de Pared (Juan Andrés Ospina)
6. Ver Llover (Lucia Pulido, lyrics by Sebastián Cruz)

Featured videos

by Andy LaViolette

Album’s artwork


Album’s Credits


Sam Hoyt (US), trumpet
Jonathan Powell (US), trumpet
Brian Davis (UK), trumpet
Guido Gonzalez (Cuba), trumpet
Michael Fahie (Canada), trombone
Matthew McDonald (US), trombone
Malec Heermans (US), trombone
James Rogers (US), bass trombone
Hadar Noiberg (Israel), flute

Alex Terrier (France), soprano sax/alto sax
Uri Gurvich (Israel), alto sax/flute
Linus Wyrsch (Switzerland), tenor sax/clarinet
Justin Flynn (US), tenor sax/clarinet/
Carl Maraghi (Canada), baritone sax/ bass clarinet
Carolina Calvache (Colombia), piano (#1, #3, #4, #5)
Nicolás Ospina (Colombia), piano (#6)
Juan Andrés Ospina (Colombia), piano (#2)
Nadav Remez (Israel), guitar

Andrés Rotmistrovsky (Argentina), electric bass
Marcelo Woloski (Argentina), percussion
Petros Klampanis (Greece), upright bass (#5)
Franco Pinna (Argentina), drums (#2, #6)
Ronen Itzik (Israel), drums (#1, #3)
Dan Pugach (Israel), drums (#4, #5)
Magda Giannikou (Greece), accordion (#5)
Sofia Ribeiro (Portugal), voice (#1)
Lucia Pulido (Colombia), voice (#6)

SPECIAL GUEST: Paquito D’Rivera (Cuba), soprano sax (#2)


Produced by Juan Andrés Ospina
Co-produced by Magda Giannikou
All arrangements written by Juan Andrés Ospina
Big band conducted by Juan Andrés Ospina
Nicolás Ospina, musical production assistant

Christopher Allen, chief recording engineer
Owen Mulholland, assistant engineer
Jeremy Loucas, mixing/mastering engineer
Photos by Stella K and Rafael Piñeros
Silvia Ospina, artwork and design
Andy LaViolette, video direction and editing

Recorded at Sear Sound Studios, New York (US), January 7-9 2017

Magda Giannikou’s accordion in “Recuerdos de un reloj de pared” recorded by Tom Beuchel at Flux Studios (New York, US)

Lucia Pulido’s vocals in “Ver llover” recorded by Diego Márquez at Fábrica de Éxitos (Ciudad de México, México)

Funded by the generous supporters of our Kickstarter campaign
Luis Enrique García, executive producer
Luis Giraldo, executive producer

Photos from the recording session

Photos by Stella K

Kickstarter Campaign videos


Juan Andrés Ospina Big Band!

$7,000 Cumbia

$20,000 Samba!

Rehearsing “Todavía no”

©2023 Juan Andrés Ospina, All Rights Reserved